Liturgical Calendar of Feast Days

All dates are according to the New Calendar

Dates in “( ),” are Gregorian (NC) dates of movable feasts

on the Julian Calendar (OC) when different.



Movable Feast Day

Date this year

Date in two years

Sunday before Theophany.

January 4, 2015

(January 18, 2015)

January 3, 2016

(January 17, 2016)

Sunday after Theophany

January 11, 2015

(January 25, 2015 )

January 10, 2016

(January 24, 2016 )

Zacchaeus Sunday
(Slavic Tradition)

January 25, 2015

February 14, 2016

Publican & Pharisee Sunday -

fast free week

February 1, 2015

February 21, 2016

Sunday of the Prodigal Son

February 8, 2015

February 28, 2016

Meat Fare Sunday

(Sunday of Last Judgment)

February 15, 2015

March 06, 2016

Fast for six days

Mon, February 16, 2015

Mon, March 7, 2016

Cheesefare (Forgiveness) Sunday

Expulsion from Paradise

February 22, 2015

March 13, 2016

Great Lent begins -
fast for 6 weeks

Mon, February 23, 2015

Mon, March 14, 2016

Sunday of Orthodoxy

1st Sunday of Lent

March 1, 2015

March 20, 2016

Sunday of St. Gregory Palamas

2nd Sunday of Lent

March 8, 2015

March 27, 2016

Sunday of the Holy Cross

3rd Sunday of Lent

March 15, 2015

April 3, 2016

Sunday of St. John Climacus

4th Sunday of Lent

March 22, 2015

April 10, 2016

Sunday of St. Mary of Egypt

5th Sunday of Lent

March 29, 2015

April 17, 2016

Lazarus Saturday

Sat, April 4, 2015

Sat, April 23, 2016

Palm Sunday

April 5, 2015

April 24, 2016

Holy Week starts -
 fast all week

Mon, April 6, 2015

Mon, April 25, 2016

Holy Thursday

Thu, April 9, 2015

Thu, April 28, 2016

Holy Friday

Fri, April 10, 2015

Fri, April 29, 2016

Holy Saturday

Sat, April 11, 2015

Sat, April 30, 2016

Pascha - fast free week

April 12, 2015

May 1, 2016

Sunday of St. Thomas

2nd Sunday of Pascha

April 19, 2015

May 8, 2016

Sunday of Myrrh-bearing Women

3rd Sunday of Pascha

April 26, 2015

May 15, 2016

Sunday of the Paralytic

4th Sunday of Pascha

May 3, 2015

May 22, 2016

Midfeast of Pentecost

Wed, May 6, 2015

Wed, May 25, 2016

Sunday of the Samaritan Woman

5th Sunday of Pascha

May 10, 2015

May 29, 2016

Sunday of the BlindMan

6th Sunday of Pascha

May 17, 2015

June 5, 2016

Leave taking of Pascha

Wed, May 20, 2015

Wed, June 8, 2016


Ascension Thursday

May 21, 2015

June 9, 2016

Fathers of the 1st Ecumenical Council

7th Sunday of Pascha

May 24, 2015

June 12, 2016

Pentecost Sunday -
fast free week

May 31, 2015

June 19, 2016

Day of the Holy Spirit

Mon, June 1, 2015

Mon, June 20, 2016

Sunday of All Saints

1st Sunday after Pentecost

June 7, 2015

June 26, 2016

Apostles fast begins

June 8, 2015

for 21 Days ( 34 Days OC)

June 27, 2016

for 2 Days ( 15 Days OC)

All Saints of Russia

2nd Sunday after Pentecost

June 14, 2015

July 3, 2016

Fathers of the First Six Councils

July 19, 2015

(July 26, 2015)

July 17, 2016

(July 31, 2016)

Sunday before the Elevation of the Cross

September 13, 2015

(September 20, 2015)

September 11, 2016

(September 25, 2016)

Sunday after Elevation of the Cross

- Lukan Jump next day -

September 20, 2015

(October 4, 2015 )

September 18, 2016

(October 2, 2016 )

Fathers of the 7th Ecumenical Council

October 11, 2015

(October 25, 2015 )

October 16, 2016

(October 30, 2016 )

2nd Sunday before Nativity

December 13, 2015

(December 27, 2015)

December 11, 2016

(December 25, 2016)

Sunday before Nativity

December 20, 2015

(January 3, 2016)

December 18, 2016

(January 1, 2017)

Sunday after Nativity

December 27, 2015

(January 10, 2016 )

January 1, 2017

(January 8, 2017 )